You are here: Home Finance Payroll Payroll
Online Services
Resources
Web Site Feedback

Please use this link to submit your comments or questions about our web site.

Submit Web Site Feedback
 
Document Actions

Payroll

Payroll Main Page

Payroll Functions

The Payroll Division is primarily responsible for the following:

  • Overseeing and coordinating all aspects of payroll services to the City of Newport News employees and retirees;
  • Maintains accurate information necessary to administer payroll payments to all City employees and Retirees;
  • Ensuring that all City and Retired employees receive accurate and timely paychecks net of the appropriate payroll deductions;
  • Posts, maintains, and processes payments for tax liens, garnishments, and child support; 
  • Printing and distributing all City paychecks as well as direct deposits statements; and
  • Properly reporting and printing all City employee W-2 statements and City retiree 1099-R statements.


Payroll Staff

Joannie Young (757) 926-8541 jyoung@nngov.com
Melanie Lowe (757) 926-8546 mlowe@nngov.com


Pay Frequency

The City of Newport News has two payment cycles that consist of a weekly and a semi-monthly payroll. Weekly employees are paid every Friday and semi-monthly employees are paid on the 15th and the last day of the month. If a pay period falls on the weekend, you will be paid the Friday prior.


Deduction Codes

A list of Deduction Codes that appear on paystubs and their descriptions is now available.


Administrative Fees

Garnishment and Lien $10.00
Child Support Order $5.00 per month
W-2 Request $5.00 current and prior year


Payroll Forms

Federal Withholding Form

State Withholding Form

Direct Deposit Form

W2 and 1099 Request Form — Reprints are processed on Tuesdays and Fridays

Translate this Site
One City Marathon

Newport News One City Marathon coming March 15, 2015

Connect with Us
Department Contacts

General Information:
Phone:  (757) 926-8738
Fax:  (757) 926-8894

Brenda Vines
blvines@nngov.com

Director of Finance: 
Tom Mitchell
(757) 926-8738

Assistant Director of Finance: 
Tonya O'Connell
(757) 926-8323
toconnell@nngov.com

Accounting Manager:
Lisa Perey
(757) 926-8439
lperey@nngov.com

Accounts Payable:
Linda Aleshire
(757) 926-3569
laleshire@nngov.com

Benefits Manager:
Kimberly Saunders Jackson
(757) 926-8522
kjackson@nngov.com  

Retirement Payroll:
Melanie Lowe
Phone: (757) 926-8546
Fax: (757) 926-3548
mlowe@nngov.com

City Payroll:
Joannie Young
Phone: (757) 926-8541
Fax: (757) 926-3548
jyoung@nngov.com

 

Powered by Plone CMS, the Open Source Content Management System

This site conforms to the following standards: